The Yogurt Spot

Last weekend S and I hit up Yogurt Spot near 5th and Lamar after a once-in-a-blue-moon shopping vacation to Whole Foods.  Yogurt Spot boasts itself as a dessert bar for a healthy lifestyle.  Well, that may be true, if you didn’t add all the calorie packed goodness on top (see photo).  For $0.39 an ounce, you can self-serve yourself from 16 yogurt flavors and over 30 toppings.  Having heard that frozen yogurt is the new cupcake and the shops’ various qualities, I asked the cashier if this yogurt contained active live cultures (the new trend, as opposed to the more familiar TCBY-like yogurt) to which she said Yes.  However, the website does not boast this, so I’m a little skeptical..

S and I both loaded up anyway, and it was, literally, everything I wanted it to be. Refreshing, delicious, light, and mood-boosting.  Live cultures or not, this place will become a regular joint in our books.

It’s been a rough week.  Maybe a cup of pecan frozen yogurt with tiny brownie bites, oatmeal cookies, and cookie dough is just what I need to cheer me up.  Don’t mind if I do.

IMG_0141[2]

About REL

Austin, Texas
This entry was posted in Restaurants. Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to The Yogurt Spot

  1. Lyssa says:

    They have stuff about probiotics and live cultures painted on their walls, isn’t that evidence enough?! 😉 I’m glad you tried Yogurt Spot and can now jump solidly on the yogurt bandwagon … what a tasty bandwagon it is. Hope you have a great, relaxing weekend!

Leave a comment